## GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATION

- Provincial Secretary (with special responsibilities for Youth and Recreation), Hon. A. Garnet Brown
- Attorney General and Minister of Highways, Hon. Leonard L. Pace
- Minister of Fisheries and Minister of Public Works, Hon. Benoit Comeau
- Minister of Public Welfare and Minister in charge of the administration of the Human Rights Act, Hon. J. William Gillis
- Minister of Education and Minister in charge of the administration of the Civil Service Act and the Civil Service Joint Council Act, Hon. Allan E. Sullivan
- Minister of Development, Hon. Ralph F. Fiske

- Minister of Public Health, Minister of Labour and Minister in charge of the Administration of the Housing Development Act, Hon, D. Scott MacNutt
- Minister of Municipal Affairs, Minister of Tourism and Minister in charge of the administration of the Liquor Control Act, Hon. J. Fraser Mooney
- Minister of Mines and Minister in charge of the administration of the Water Act, Hon. Glen M. Bagnell
- Minister of Lands and Forests, Hon. Maurice E. DeLory
- Minister of Agriculture and Marketing, Hon. John Hawkins.

## 4.3.1.4 New Brunswick

The government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Honourable H.J. Robichaud, sworn in October 8, 1971, is the present Lieutenant-Governor. The Legislature elected October 26, 1970 is the forty-seventh in New Brunswick's history and the twentieth since Confederation. It has 58 members, at present 32 Progressive Conservatives and 26 Liberals, elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years.

The Premier receives \$25,000 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. Each Cabinet Minister is paid \$16,000; each member of the Legislative Assembly receives \$8,000 and a \$2,500 allowance for expenses. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$16,000. The Speaker and Deputy Speaker are paid \$5,000 and \$2,500, respectively, in addition to the regular indemnity.

The twenty-fourth Ministry of New Brunswick as at December 31, 1972

Premier, Hon. Richard Hatfield

Minister of Justice, Hon. John B.M. Baxter Minister of Finance, Hon. Jean-Maurice Simard

Chairman of Treasury Board, Hon. Jean-Paul LeBlanc

Provincial Secretary, Hon. Omer Léger

Minister of Supply and Services, Hon. Carl Mooers

- Minister of Highways, Hon. Wilfred Bishop
- Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. A. Edison Stairs
- Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Hon. J. Stewart Brooks

Minister of Health, Hon. Lawrence Garvie

Minister of Social Services, Hon. Brenda M. Robertson Minister of Education, Hon. J. Lorne McGuigan Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Horace B. Smith Minister of Economic Growth, Hon. Paul S. Creaghan

Minister of Labour, Hon. Rodman E. Logan

- Minister of Fisheries and Environment, Hon. G.W.N. Cockburn
- Minister of Youth, Hon. Brenda M. Robertson
- Minister of Tourism, Hon. Jean-Paul LeBlanc, acting

Minister of New Brunswick Electric Power Commission, Hon. J. Stewart Brooks, acting.

## 4.3.1.5 Quebec

The government of Quebec consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a National Assembly. The current Lieutenant-Governor is the Honourable Hugues Lapointe, commissioned to office February 22, 1966. The National Assembly has 108 members elected for a maximum period of five years. Party standings in the twenty-ninth Legislature elected April 29, 1970 were: Liberal 72; *Union Nationale* 17; Social Credit 12; and *Parti Québécois* seven.

Each member of the National Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$15,000 and an expense allowance of \$7,000. In addition to this indemnity and allowance, the Prime Minister is paid \$20,000 annually and members of the Cabinet \$19,000. Each also receives a \$3,000 representation allowance. Ministers without portfolio receive an annual indemnity of \$12,000 with a representation allowance of \$3,000. The Chief Whips and parliamentary assistants are paid an annual indemnity of \$3,500 and a representation allowance of \$3,000. The Chief Whips and parliamentary assistants are paid an annual indemnity of \$3,500 and a representation allowance of \$1,500. The Speaker of the National Assembly receives an indemnity of \$14,000, and a representation allowance of \$3,000; the Deputy Speaker receives an indemnity of \$6,000 and a representation allowance of \$2,000. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an indemnity of \$15,000, and a representation